Bad Monkeys In The Falling Temple.


Since all has been quiet on the bad monkey front since the removal of half my calf muscle in my right leg, which has recovered very well thank you, I haven’t really felt a need to post here. My new health problems, because I get bored easily and am always looking for the next new thing, aren’t really in the monkey category. Having a wonky heart that likely nurtured a lovely little blood clot and then sent it out into the bloodstream in the midst of life chaos, is more a structural problem than an insurrection action.
It is possible that the bad monkeys damaged the very temple they seek to hide out in, but that’s how them monkeys roll. I think, really though, they just choose a not so well-built temple to start with. That’s what happens when your temple is built with 1950’s building codes, when alcohol and cigarette smoke was commonplace on the work site. From the start I kind of knew I had a lemon. I’m actually surprised to have gotten this far, especially since I maintain this place the same way I maintain my house, and my cars. In other words, with a prayer my luck doesn’t run out.
I could see the stroke as a sign my luck ran out, but in another light it is that I got very lucky. First, I escaped it without any serious damage – only a highly sensitive reaction to loud clanging noises and bright lights, so no work in kitchens for me! And I probably should steer clear of firefighting and police work.
And in the course of trying to locate the home of the little clot that could, they noticed my heart just wasn’t what it could be. That’s for sure! I was told by a heart technician that heart-break is a real thing, and I suspect it is partly behind the damage to my heart. But I have also had heart issues in the past, related to anxiety, because to me the world always seemed too loud and clangy, and too bright and harsh.
And then there’s the lifetime of using asthma inhalers, since I was about 5. I had heard they will enlarge your heart. I thought that meant I would be more loving, and maybe that is true. But it also meant modifications were made over time that may have subverted the stability of the structure.
So all in all, it’s a shambles, this temple of mine. I could clean it up, and I am trying. Some days. Some days I just sit around, waiting for the monkeys, leaving my junk food wrappers and empty bottles. Those are the not so good days, and I am trying to make sure I have less and less of them. As one gets older one needs to simplify one’s space. It is easier to trip over the junk and I am reminded of how close I came to konking myself right out of the human race when I plummeted in late April.
So the plan is to clean the place up, make it less inviting for bad monkeys and their ilk, and try to shore up the structure. I have had to chase around some “experts” in doing this, as they seem to be avoiding me. Right now I am trying to chase down these guys, electrical physiologists they call themselves, who suggested we install a failsafe in case my heart decides to take the day off. I don’t really like the idea, but I do need to know my heart won’t play hooky in the future as it kind of runs the place. Don’t tell my brain. It thinks it does, but without the heart, my brain isn’t going to be at work either.
As for the bad monkeys, well…. the CT scan I had done the night of my stroke, showed SOMETHING in my right lung (only took them 5 months to tell me that). That is where my oncologist (chief monkey hunter) suspects the monkeys will turn up if they come back. So I am having another MRI of the leg and then a CT chest scan in December, right in time for Christmas!
A nice Christmas present for me this year would be NO BAD MONKEYS!!!!
I’ve had a hard year, and I try to be (mostly) a good girl, so it would be nice of Santa to gift me that. 🙂

santa-orangutan_68_1425952a

Leave a Reply

